Jacob W. Miller Award

Jake Miller

The Jacob W. Miller Award is presented by the APhA Foundation and was endowed by Wyeth Pharmaceuticals. The Award is given annually during the APhA Foundation’s Contributors' Breakfast at the APhA Annual Meeting.

In the spirit of Jake Miller’s outstanding commitment to the APhA Foundation the award recognizes an individual who has advanced the mission of the APhA Foundation through any or all of the following:

  • Active involvement in the programs of the APhA Foundation
  • Exemplary support in helping establish and/or maintaining APhA Foundation initiatives
  • Outstanding leadership in carrying out the mission of the APhA Foundation

The award recipient is selected by a vote of the APhA Foundation Board of Directors during their January meeting.  

About Jacob W. Miller

About Jake Miller

Jake Miller, a Kentucky native, graduated from the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy in 1951. Jake has held many positions in the industry, owned a community pharmacy, earned a Juris Doctor degree, and developed a national reputation as a pioneer in the establishment of third party prescription programs. He was also active and held leadership positions in state and national pharmacy organizations, earning many of their coveted honors. He served as APhA President from 1978—1979. Jake is well remembered for his long association with the Bowl of Hygeia Award program. Mr. Miller and his wife, Mary, currently reside in Virginia Beach, Virginia.

In 2000, Jake was honored with the award for his dedicated service and leadership as president of the APhA Foundation Board of Directors from 1991 to 2000. Throughout his tenure, he was an active, hands-on leader often traveling to Washington to work with staff, as the Foundation became a more vital organization. Under his guidance, the Foundation was re-organized and its mission was re-focused to enhance the impact of the pharmacist’s pharmaceutical care role on the quality of consumer health care outcomes. The programs and projects that were developed during his tenure enabled pharmacists to better communicate with their patients, thereby ensuring more effective and safe use of medications in their drug therapy.



Past Recipients
Year Name    
2024 Thomas R. Temple Former CEO of the Iowa Pharmacy Association (awarded posthumously) Des Moines, IA
2023 Eugene Lutz Co-owner of Lutz Pharmacist Services, a consulting and relief pharmacist firm in Altoona, Iowa.  Altoona, IA
2022 Leonard Edloe CEO (retired) of Edloe's Professional Pharmacies, Pastor of New Hope Fellowship, and Adjunct Professor of Christian Ethics at the John Leland Theological Center Mechanicsville, VA
2021 Susan Winckler CEO of Reagan-Udall Foundation for the Food and Drug Administration Alexandria, VA

Calvin Knowlton

Orsula Knowlton

Founder, Chairman and CEO of Tabula Rasa Healthcare

Co-founder, President and Chief Marketing and Business Development Officer of Tabula Rasa Healthcare

Moorestown, NJ
2019 Cynthia Boyle Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice & Adminstration, University of Maryland Eastern Shore School of Pharmacy Baltimore, MD
2018 Patricia Mae Doykos Director, Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation New York City, NY
2017 Rebecca Snead Executive Vice President and CEO, National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations Mechanicsville, VA
2016 Daniel Garrett Chief Trailblazer, Blue Ridge Mountain Group Asheville, NC
2015 Dennis B. Worthen James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy, University of Cincinnati Cincinnati, OH
2014 William Ellis Executive Director, Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) Washington, DC
2013 John A. Gans Professor of Pharmacy, University of the Sciences Philadelphia, PA
2012 Joseph D. Williams CEO, Warner-Lambert (Retired) Philadelphia, PA
2011 Marie E. Michnich  Director of Health Policy Educational Programs and Fellowships for the Institute of Medicine Washington, DC
2010 Lucinda Maine American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Alexandria, VA
2009 Hazel Pipkin University of Texas San Antonio, TX
2008 Marsha Henderson Deputy Director, FDA/Office of Women's Health  Rockville, MD
2007 Marvin Dyrstad Owner, Red Wing Corner Drug (Retired) Red Wing, MN
2006 Marily Rhudy Sr. Vice President for Public Policy, Wyeth (Retired) Madison, NJ
2005 Brian Isetts Professor, University of Minnesota, College of Pharmacy Minneapolis, MN
2004 Marialice Bennett Assistant Professor, Ohio State University, Pharmaceutical Care Clinic Columbus, OH
2003 Gary Kadlec CEO, ExcelleRx Philadelphia, PA
2002 Shane Kraus Family Practice Physician Richmond, VA
2001 John Beckner Director, Pharmacy and Health Services, Ukrop's Super Markets, Inc. Richmond, VA
2000 Jake Miller Wyeth Pharmeuticals (Retired) Virginia Beach, VA