News Release

Leader and Innovator in Advancing Public Health Wins Prestigious Jake Miller Award

March 12, 2018

Leader and Innovator in Advancing Public Health Wins Prestigious Jake Miller Award

WASHINGTON, DC – The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation today announced Patricia Mae Doykos, PhD, as the recipient of the 2018 APhA Foundation Jacob W. Miller Award. The award recognizes individuals who have advanced the APhA Foundation’s mission through involvement in its programs, support of its initiatives or leadership in carrying out its mission. It was established in 2000 to honor Jacob Miller, who served as president of the APhA Foundation from 1991 to 2000. Dr. Doykos will be honored at the APhA2018 Annual Meeting and Exposition, March 16-19, 2018, in Nashville. The official award presentation will take place on March 19 at the APhA Foundation Contributors’ Breakfast.

“On behalf of the team at the Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation, I am very honored to receive the 2018 Jacob W. Miller Award.  The APhA Foundation was the very first grantee of the Together on Diabetes® initiative with the IMPACT Diabetes Program and set the standard for all of our other grantees in how to create truly transformative change in healthcare delivery, disease management support and patient activation and self-management of diabetes. This innovative project clearly demonstrated the critical role that pharmacists play in bringing high quality care and support to high risk and vulnerable populations in communities across the country.”

Dr. Doykos is director of the Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation whose mission is to promote health equity and improve the health outcomes of populations disproportionately affected by serious diseases and conditions.

Dr. Doykos works on strategy, evaluation, communications and organizational development for the Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation overall and currently leads two national grant programs, Specialty Care for Vulnerable Populations® and Together on Diabetes®: Communities Uniting to Meet America’s Diabetes Challenge. She has also developed and led U.S. and international grant making and public-private partnership programs for global HIV/AIDS, women’s health, cancer and serious mental illness. Currently, she chairs the Board of the Center for Health Equity at Dartmouth-Geisel Medical School and serves on the board of Grantmakers in Health, the National Minority Quality Forum-Cancer Moonshot Diverse Communities Working Group, and the advisory boards of Georgetown New Strategies and The iF Foundation. 

Prior to joining the Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation in 2002, Dr. Doykos led International Public Affairs for the company’s infectious disease franchise and cancer R&D.

About the American Pharmacists Association Foundation

The APhA Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., is a trusted source of research demonstrating how pharmacists can improve health care. The APhA Foundation’s mission is to improve health by inspiring philanthropy, research, and innovation that advances pharmacists’ patient care services. The APhA Foundation is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the national professional society of pharmacists in the U.S. For more information, please visit the APhA Foundation website Follow the APhA Foundation on Twitter and Facebook for the latest updates.