Pharmacist Leader, Educator and Advocate Wins Prestigious Jacob Miller Award

WASHINGTON, DC – The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation today announced Cynthia J. Boyle, PharmD, FAPhA as the recipient of the 2019 APhA Foundation's Jacob W. Miller Award. The award recognizes individuals who have advanced the APhA Foundation’s mission through involvement in its programs, support of its initiatives or leadership in carrying out its mission. Established in 2000, the award honors Jacob W. Miller, APhA Foundation president from 1991-2000.  

Dr. Boyle will be honored at the APhA2019 Annual Meeting & Exposition, March 22-25, 2019 in Seattle, Washington. The official award presentation will take place on March 25 at the APhA Foundation Contributors’ Breakfast.

The Jacob W. Miller Award is a wonderful honor,” said Boyle.  “As I look back, I have enjoyed promoting the goals of the APhA Foundation.”

Dr. Boyle is Professor, Department of Pharmacy, Practice and Science at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy.  She graduated from the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy and University of Maryland School of Pharmacy and has practiced in community, institutional, and consultant settings.

Boyle also serves as a member of the APhA Foundation Student Scholarship Committee and is a longtime philanthropic supporter of the Foundation.  In 2005, she funded the endowment of a scholarship named the Boyle Family Scholarship which awards $1,000 annually to a student of pharmacy.

Boyle added, “Contributors share a special bond whether funding scholarships, serving as volunteers, encouraging incentive grant applicants, or fundraising for research initiatives. The key to meaningful philanthropy is regular commitment at whatever level one can donate. I believe in the APhA Foundation, which supports people and promotes innovation.”   

A former president of the Maryland Pharmacists Association and the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), Boyle has received a variety of national and local honors, including the AACP Crystal APPLE award for contributions to learning excellence in experiential education, and the APhA Francke Leadership Mentor Award.


In 2003, Boyle received an APhA Foundation Incentive Grant, parlaying her research into the book, “Leadership and Advocacy for Pharmacy.”  She and her co-editors published the 2nd edition of the book in 2014 through APhA.



About the American Pharmacists Association Foundation

The APhA Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, DC, is a trusted source of research demonstrating how pharmacists can improve health care. The APhA Foundation’s mission is to improve health by inspiring philanthropy, research and innovation that advances pharmacists’ patient care services. The APhA Foundation is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the national professional society of pharmacists in the U.S. For more information, please visit the APhA Foundation website Follow the APhA Foundation on Twitter and Facebook for the latest updates.