News Release

February 10, 2017

Medication Safety and Quality Advocate Wins Prestigious Miller Award 

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation today announced Rebecca Snead, RPh as the recipient of the 2017 APhA Foundation Jacob W. Miller Award. The award recognizes individuals who have advanced the APhA Foundation’s mission through involvement in its programs, support of its initiatives, or leadership in carrying out its mission. It was established in 2000 to honor Jacob Miller, who served as president of the APhA Foundation from 1991 to 2000.

Snead, executive vice president and CEO of the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA), will be honored at the APhA2017 Annual Meeting & Exposition, March 24-27, 2017, in San Francisco. The official award presentation will take place on March 27 at the APhA Foundation Contributors’ Breakfast.

“I am truly honored to be selected as the recipient of the Jacob W. Miller Award from the APhA Foundation,” said Snead. “Jake is a longtime friend and a mentor to me, so it makes this award even more special.”

Prior to her role at NASPA, Snead served as executive director of the Virginia Pharmacists Association for 13 years. Throughout her career, Snead has promoted medication safety and quality, currently serving the profession in a number of ways such as holding the position of secretary/treasurer for the Alliance for Patient Medication Safety Pharmacy (APMS), being a member of the Alliance for Integrated Medication Management (AIMM) board and being a founding member of the Pharmacy Quality Alliance (PQA), and serving on the executive committee of the Pharmacy HIT Collaborative.

Snead received the 2008 APhA Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award and the National Association of Chain Drug Stores’ Foundation’s UCB Leadership in Pharmacy Award. Snead is very active in APhA Foundation programs, being a staunch supporter of the Bowl of Hygeia program where she promotes and markets the efforts of the award selection process and coordinates with state associations to announce recipients, and works with Foundation staff to organize Bowl of Hygeia receptions.

In addition, Snead has been a philanthropic contributor to a number of programs, including the 1953 Society, Bowl of Hygeia, Daniel A. Herbert Incentive Grant Award, Carl F. Emswiller Memorial Fund, Capital Building Campaign, and other APhA Foundation Annual Fund appeals.

“It has been a pleasure working with the APhA Foundation on many projects and activities throughout my career, but none are as close to my heart as the Bowl of Hygeia program recognizing individuals’ exemplary community service,” Snead noted. “I would like to thank the APhA Foundation staff and volunteers for all that they do for the profession of pharmacy and extend a special thank you to Jake Miller for providing an example of leadership and community service that we all can strive to emulate.”

About the American Pharmacists Association Foundation

The APhA Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., is a trusted source of research demonstrating how pharmacists can improve health care. The APhA Foundation’s mission is to improve health by inspiring philanthropy, research and innovation that advances pharmacists’ patient care services. The APhA Foundation is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the national professional society of pharmacists in the U.S. For more information, please visit the APhA Foundation website Follow the APhA Foundation on Twitter and Facebook for the latest updates.