2024 Scholarship Recipients

Sahej Kaur Chawla

University of California, Irvine School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences


Sahej Kaur Chawla, 3rd year student pharmacist, is part of the inaugural class at University of California, Irvine (UCI) School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences. Prior to pharmacy school, she received a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology with Departmental & College Honors from University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).

During her time as a student pharmacist, Sahej has been actively involved in American Pharmacists Association (APhA) and California Pharmacists Association (CPhA). She is currently serving on CPhA Board of Directors. The APhA/CPhA-ASP chapter at UCI is fairly new and was first started in 2021. In 2023, Sahej served as Chapter President during which the chapter received its charter at APhA Annual 2023. Also, she served as the first-ever chapter delegate from UCI at this conference during House of Delegates. From 2021-2022, as President-Elect, Sahej worked alongside her founding board to create the chapter constitution and bylaws. Through her leadership, Sahej has worked hard to grow member engagement and achieve membership goals with continued chapter "firsts" along the way including socials, outreach visits, and community events. Additionally, she has served as her school's student representative on the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee from 2021-2022. 

Sahej has been selected for the 2024-2025 APPE rotation with APhA Pharmacy Practice & Government Affairs. She is looking forward to learning more about the pharmacy practice, regulatory activities, and grassroots advocacy.