News Release

APhA Foundation Names 2015 Student Scholarship Program Recipients

New scholarship honoring first female and African-American APhA President awarded

WASHINGTON, DC – The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation today announced the recipients of its 2015 Student Scholarship Program. The student scholarships are awarded to recognize exceptional demonstration of leadership skills and academics through active involvement in the APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP).

For the first time, a new scholarship honoring the late former APhA President Mary Munson Runge will be awarded. Runge is known as a pioneer for women in pharmacy, particularly for being the first female and African-American president of APhA. The 2015 recipients are:

  • Brandi Bowers – University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy (Mary Louise Andersen Scholar)
  • Jessica Dizon – University of New England College of Pharmacy (Mary Munson Runge Scholar)
  • Rachel Howland – University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Pharmacy (APhA Foundation/APhA Auxiliary Scholar)
  • Nilofar Jafari – Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy (Boyle Family Scholar)
  • Amy Kang – Loma Linda University School of Pharmacy (Robert D. Gibson Scholar)
  • Jeffrey Van Liew – University of the Incarnate Word Feik School of Pharmacy (Paul Pumpian Scholar)
  • Bernice Man – Chicago State University College of Pharmacy (Charles C. Thomas Scholar)
  • Meena Murugappan – University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy – Duluth (Marvin and Joanell Dyrstad Scholar)
  • Shiny Parsai – The University of Iowa College of Pharmacy (Juan and Esperanza Luna Scholar)
  • Ernest Ruiz – University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy – Twin Cities (Sam Kalman Scholar)
  • Kelsey Stephens – The University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy (Gloria Francke Scholar)
  • Bradley St. Pierre –Ferris State University College of Pharmacy (John A. Gans Scholar)
  • Sophia Yang – University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy (George F. Archambault Scholar)

The recipients will be recognized on March 30, 2015, at the APhA Foundation Contributors’ Breakfast during the 2015 APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in San Diego. Scholarships will be officially presented at the APhA-ASP Opening General Session on Saturday, March 28.

The scholarships recognize those students who choose to invest their time through active involvement in their school’s APhA-ASP chapter. These exceptional students help shape the future of the pharmacy profession while managing the demands of a full-time curriculum. Student scholarship recipients are selected by the dedicated members of the Student Scholarship Review Committee. The 2015 review committee included Nancy Alvarez, Cynthia Boyle, Pamela Koss Justice, Lisa Martin, Marissa Salvo, April Shaughnessy, Angela Olenik, and also Jean Cottrell for her input on the Archambault Scholar recipient. Special recognition goes to Hazel Pipkin for her previous years of service on the committee. To learn more about the scholarship program, please visit

About the American Pharmacists Association Foundation

The APhA Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., is a trusted source of research demonstrating how pharmacists can improve health care. The APhA Foundation’s mission is to improve people’s health through pharmacists’ patient care services. The APhA Foundation is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the national professional society of pharmacists in the U.S. For more information, please visit the APhA Foundation website Follow the APhA Foundation on Twitter and Facebook for the latest updates.