News Release

February 24, 2017

APhA Foundation Announces 2017 Ton Hoek Scholarship Recipient

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation today announced Valerie Nolt, PharmD as the inaugural recipient of the Ton Hoek Scholarship. The Ton Hoek Scholarship provides a stipend for a student pharmacist, fellow, resident, or PharmD graduate pursuing graduate studies to attend the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) World Congress. Through participation in FIP Congress, recipients learn firsthand about global health issues. Recipients are encouraged to participate in the FIP Congress networking opportunities, presentations, poster sessions, and report submissions.

Nolt, a post-graduate year one pharmacy resident at the University of Kentucky, received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy. As a student pharmacist, she was actively involved with the International Pharmaceutical Students’ Federation (IPSF) through her membership in APhA-ASP. Nolt fostered her interest in global health through pharmacy practice experiences in Turkey, Portugal, and Guatemala.

“Although I will, unfortunately, never have the opportunity to meet Ton Hoek, it is with great respect that I accept this scholarship in his honor. He has been described as consistently cheerful, deeply committed to the profession, and invested in the promotion of global advancement of pharmacy. The receipt of this scholarship is incredibly meaningful in supporting my attendance at the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) World Congress, which will allow me to continue exploring the network of international pharmacy and learning how I can advance global health initiatives throughout my career,” said Nolt.

Nolt will be recognized at the APhA Foundation Contributors’ Breakfast during the 2017 APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in San Francisco on Monday, March 27, 2017.

The Ton Hoek Scholarship recipient is selected by the dedicated members of the Ton Hoek Scholarship Review Committee. The 2017 committee included Bonnie Avery, Joseph DiPiro, Diane Ginsburg, Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner, and Jenelle Sobotka. To learn more about the Ton Hoek Scholarship, please visit our website.

The Ton Hoek Scholarship was established to memorialize Mr. A. J. M. (Ton) Hoek’s commitment to the global community of pharmacists. In his role as CEO and General Secretary of FIP, Hoek (1955-2012) built many global relationships in the pharmacist community. His leadership efforts resulted in positive collaboration for FIP, both within pharmacy and at the broader level of world health.

The Ton Hoek Scholarship is endowed through the generous contributions of Foundation supporters interested in advancing global pharmacy initiatives. The APhA Foundation would like to thank Jenelle Sobotka for her lead contribution as well as everyone who contributed to the endowment of this scholarship.

About the American Pharmacists Association Foundation

The APhA Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., is a trusted source of research demonstrating how pharmacists can improve health care. The APhA Foundation’s mission is to improve health by inspiring philanthropy, research and innovation that advances pharmacists’ patient care services. The APhA Foundation is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the national professional society of pharmacists in the U.S. For more information, please visit the APhA Foundation website Follow the APhA Foundation on Twitter and Facebook for the latest updates.