Juan and Esperanza Luna Scholarship


The Juan and Esperanza Luna Scholarship was established by Nancy A. Alvarez in 2013 and named in honor of her parents.  Nancy A. Alvarez, PharmD, BCPS, FAPhA is the Assistant Dean for Experiential Education and Continuing Professional Development and Clinical Assistant Professor at Chapman University School of Pharmacy.  She earned a PharmD degree from The University of Arizona (U of A) in 1992 and is a board-certified pharmacotherapy specialist. She has also served as a pharmacist in community practice; was part of an innovative and progressive hospice/palliative care practice; and led the medical communications function of the medical affairs department of a specialty pharmaceutical company.

Nancy has had diverse professional service experiences throughout her career. She is currently a Pharmacy Leadership and Education Institute Board member and has participated in leader development education as a facilitator, content developer and/or program director for 17 years. She has served as Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society National President, as an inaugural Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Certification Council member and as Phi Delta Chi Grand Vice President for Collegiate Affairs. She is a member of the California Pharmacists Association and has served as a preceptor for student pharmacists from numerous institutions.

Her service to APhA started early as she was elected an APhA-Academy of Student Pharmacists National Executive Committee Member-at-Large and an APhA-Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management Community/Ambulatory section officer while a new practitioner. She has worked on policy and nomination committees and on the APhA Foundation Student Scholarship Selection Committee since 2009. She serves on APhA Board of Trustees in her second term.

Arizona pharmacy service was recognized with 1994 Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year and 1995 Employee Pharmacist of the Year Awards. National recognition consists of the 1997 Pharmacy Leadership and Education Institute Prescott Leadership Award for outstanding leadership by a pharmacist with ≤ 10 years career experience, 1998 APhA Good Government Pharmacist of the Year and the 2007 APhA-APPM Distinguished Award in Administrative Practice. She was named an APhA Fellow in 2004.  The University of Arizona College of Pharmacy Jack R. Cole Distinguished Alumnus Award was awarded to her 2012. 

Juan and Esperanza are enjoying retirement from telephone technical support and household maintenance roles, respectively.  They currently reside in Vernon, AZ where they are involved in their community and occupy time engaged in a variety of projects of interest.  They actively participate in the scholarship selection process and were in attendance to see the first scholarship in their name awarded.


The Juan and Esperanza Luna Scholarship is presented annually to one (1) recipient with a scholarship of $1,000.

Learn more about other APhA Foundation scholarships for students.