2024 Scholarship Recipients

Elaina Vitale

University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy 


Elaina Vitale is a third-year student pharmacist at the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy. She is a proud St. Louis, MO native, and everyone knows her as Lain. She received her Bachelor of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences with a minor in Chemistry from the University of Mississippi in 2021, and will receive her PharmD in 2025. 

Throughout her time as a student pharmacist, Lain has served as the 2022-2023 Region 3 Regional Delegate, and was selected to be the 2024-2025 Chair of the National Policy Standing Committee for APhA-ASP. At the local level, she served as her APhA-ASP chapter's Policy Vice President for two years and represented Ole Miss at two MRMs and at Annual Meetings in the House of Delegates. In addition to ASP involvement, Lain serves in executive board positions for the Beta Rho chapter of Kappa Psi, CPFI, University of Mississippi Advocacy Council, Phi Lambda Sigma, and is the co-chair of the Government Affairs Committee for the Mississippi Pharmacists Association. She is an active member of Rho Chi, and volunteers at a Spanish-speaking free clinic. 

With interests in industry, public health, infectious disease, hematology/oncology, and the Spanish language, Lain hopes to pursue a career where she will be able to combine her love for both pharmacy and people by providing accessible healthcare that benefits underserved communities. She is passionate about medical mission work and has participated in five medical mission trips to four different countries in Central America, leading two of them.