Marvin and Joanell Dyrstad Scholarship


Marvin and Joanell Dyrstad were the owners of Red Wing Corner Drug and Corner Medical Center Pharmacy. They purchased the drug store in 1968 and consolidated three additional pharmacies into the store. Marv has been active in several community organizations. He was president of Red Wing Kiwanis, United Lutheran Church and Boy Scout Friends of Scouting. In addition, he served on the Goodhue County Nursing Board, Red Wing Planning Commission and several other boards.

Corner Drug was the largest practice site in the University of Minnesota’s Pharmaceutical Care Study from 1992-1995. Corner Drug was also one of APhA’s Project IMPACT sites. The pharmacy has participated in numerous HMO pharmaceutical care and manufacturers’ medication studies. Marv is an alumnus of the University of Minnesota and has been involved in teaching students for many years. He received the 1995 Preceptor of the Year award from the College of Pharmacy. He was honored in 1999 as the College of  Pharmacy Outstanding Alumnus. He has taught courses on pharmaceutical care, collaborative practice, and utilization of technology in Minnesota, Illinois, Kentucky and at the APhA Annual Meeting. He teaches classes frequently in local nursing homes. 

Marv holds active memberships in APhA, MPhA, ASCP and NCPA. He is an ASCP Fellow, Past President of MPhA, President of the APhA Foundation and serves on the Minnesota Pharmacists Foundation Board.

Joanell is a graduate of Gustavus Adolphus College and Hamline University. She was the Mayor of Red Wing for three terms and the Lt. Governor of Minnesota from 1991-1995. She has served on hospital and health care boards at the local, state and national level, including the Fairview Health System, Minnesota Hospital Association, American Hospital Association and a JACHO Task Force. Joanell is a Trustee Emeriti of the University of Minnesota Foundation. She is a former trustee of Gustavus Adolphus College, the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education and the Minnesota Statewide Judicial Selection Committee. She was named the 2005 Minnesota Hospital Association Hospital Trustee of the Year.

Marv and Joanell have two children and four grandchildren.

“We decided to fund our APhA Foundation Scholarship because of our personal commitment to assist promising pharmacy students in making their educational dreams come true. Both of us worked our way through college and know the significance of  scholarships and financial assistance in making a college education a reality. Today’s students carry a significant debt load and we hope in a small way to reduce that burden for some of them. We know that the APhA Foundation will continue our legacy in using our gift as we intend for the benefit of pharmacy students for many years to come.”


The Marvin and Joanell Dyrstad Scholarship is presented annually to one (1) recipient with a scholarship of $1,000.

Learn more about other APhA Foundation scholarships for students.