George F. Archambault Scholarship


The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation is pleased to announce the establishment of the George F. Archambault Scholarship to honor the late George F. Archambault, Ph.G., Ph.C., J.D. The scholarship was established by the Archambault Foundation in 2011.

George Francis Archambault was born on April 29, 1909, in Springfield, Massachusetts. In his teenage years, Archambault worked for a Springfield pharmacist and later attended the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy (MCP), where he received his PhG (1931) and PhC (1933) degrees. Archambault went on to receive his JD from Northeastern University in 1941 and was admitted to the Massachusetts bar in 1942.

In 1943 he took a pharmacy position as a civilian at the U.S. Marine Hospital in Brighton, MA.  His duties included teaching pharmaceutical arithmetic and compounding to Merchant Marine and U.S. Coast Guard pharmacists mates. After being commissioned to the Public Health Service (PHS) in 1945, he was named Chief of the Pharmacy Branch of the PHS Division of Hospitals from 1947 to 1965.  He was also named Pharmacy Liaison Officer to the Office of the Surgeon General of the United States from 1959 to 1967. American Druggist named Archambault Man of the Year in 1966 for his work as the Medicare pharmacy planning consultant to the Division of Medical Care Administration of PHS, where he wrote the regulations governing pharmacy’s role in Medicare and Medicaid. Deputy Surgeon General Rear Admiral Kenneth P. Moritsugu proclaimed Archambault a “Living Treasure of the United States Public Health Service Commissioned Corps.”

Archambault was a passionate believer in the benefits of being active in professional associations.  He became a charter member of the American Society of Hospital (now Health-System) Pharmacists in 1942 and was a lifelong member of the American Pharmaceutical (now Pharmacists) Association.  He served as an officer and president of both organizations.  In 1970 became a charter member of the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists (ASCP). He is considered the father of consultant pharmacy and is the namesake and inaugural recipient of the ASCP’s highest honor, the George F. Archambault Award.

Archambault’s impressive career includes the highest awards of pharmacy, including the 1956 Harvey A.K. Whitney Award from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and the 1969 Remington Medal from the American Pharmacists Association. In 1962, the Association of Military Surgeons presented Archambault with the Craigie Award, which recognizes contributions in the advancement of professional pharmacy in the federal government.

Archambault died on January 1, 2001. This scholarship honors Archambault’s long career of dedicated service to the pharmacy profession and the Public Health Service.

Please refer to the Heroes of Pharmacy Series on George Francis Archambault for further biographical information. Worthen DB. George Francis Archambault (1909—2001). J Am Pharm Assoc. 2003; 43:441-443.


If you would like to be considered for the George F. Archambault Scholarship, please submit the following additional information. The George F. Archambault Scholarship is available to student pharmacists who meet the following criteria:

• Submitted an essay of up to 500 words describing how your leadership and professional experiences enhance and align with the United States Public Health Service (USPHS) core values of service to the underserved, integrity, leadership, and academics.

• Preference given to those indicating further USPHS service, including a USPHS residency program; and eligibility requires,

• Completion of a COSTEP program or equivalent clerkship experience at a USPHS facility, or

• Child of a USPHS pharmacist


The George F. Archambault Scholarship is presented annually to one (1) recipient with a scholarship of $1,500.

Learn more about other APhA Foundation scholarships for students.