Hamilton, Harris and Tucker APhA-ASP Chapter President Scholarship

The Hamilton, Harris and Tucker APhA-ASP Chapter President Scholarship was created with an endownment from Ed and Ann Hamilton, Betty Jean Harris, and Timothy and Diane Tucker.  They established the scholarship in recognition of their long-term commitment to advancing the profession of pharmacy at the local, state and national levels. The scholarship recipient will be based upon their outstanding student leadership, pharmacy association involvement and community service.



All chapters are encouraged to nominate, through chapter advisor letter of recommendation, their APhA-ASP Chapter President or Immediate Past President to recognize their outstanding leadership. Chapter advisors may nominate only one candidate from their chapter per year.

  • Please provide two letters of recommendation:
    • One academic letter from the APhA-ASP Chapter Advisor who can speak to the student’s leadership within APhA-ASP.
    • One non-academic reference (i.e. pharmacist-employer, community service contact, pharmacy association or other membership association representative) addressing the applicant’s strengths in areas not involving academics or APhA-ASP involvement.


Ed L. Hamilton, PharmD, FAPhA

Dr. Ed L. Hamilton earned his BS in Pharmacy and his Doctor of Pharmacy degrees from the University of Florida.  Maintaining his commitment to the University over the years, he has been an active member of the Dean’s Lead-ership Council as well as its Chair.  

Dr. Hamilton has been actively involved in serving the profession of pharmacy in a leadership role for over 40 years, including Director of Pharmacy for Winter Haven Women’s Hospital and Winter Haven Hospital. He served for ten years on the Board of Trustees of the American Pharmacists Association and was honored to serve as APhA President 2009-10. Ed also served on the APhA Foundation Board for two terms and served as President of the Foundation twice. Dr. Hamilton also served as President of APhA-APPM and has the distinction of being an APhA Fellow. 

At the state level in Florida, Ed served as President of the Florida Pharmacy Association, Speaker of the House and President of the FPA Foundation. Early in his career, Ed served as President of the Polk County Pharmacy As-sociation and on the Board of Directors of the Florida Society of Health-System Pharmacists.  He has been recognized as the Florida Pharmacist of the Year by the FPA and as well as by FSHP.  He has also been honored with the University of  Florida Distinguished Alumnus Award, Jean Lamber-ti Mentorship Award,  Roman Maximo Corrons Inspiration and Motivation Award, the Bowl of Hygeia Award, FPA President’s Award of Excellence, and Phi Lambda Sigma Leadership Inductee.

He and his wife Ann have two grown sons and two grandsons and enjoy bi-cycling, kayaking, golf, coaching baseball, and family activities on the lake.


Betty J. Harris, PharmD

Betty J. Harris is a consultant pharmacist with Maine Veterans Homes (MVH). Her position with MVH began in 2011 during her faculty position at Husson University School of Pharmacy.  Prior to Husson, Dr. Harris was Assistant Dean of Experiential Education and Student Services at NSU College of Pharmacy from 2006 to 2011. She joined academia after an extensive career with both independent and corporate long-term care and specialty pharmacy care services.  Dr. Harris has also practiced in community chain pharmacy and part-time in hospital settings. She is a graduate of the University of the Sciences in Philadelphia (formerly Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science) and received her Pharm.D. from Nova Southeastern University.

Her volunteer pharmacy association services include former President of the Maine Pharmacy Association, Speaker of the House of Delegates and former Board of Trustees member of the American Pharmacy Association and former President of the Florida Pharmacy Association.  She current serves on the advisory board of the Medical Professional Health Program for Maine.

One of her non-pharmacy passions includes caring for and enjoying the natural beauty of our planet.  She is a licensed Maine Sea Kayak guide.  She also enjoys the paths of the Great Pond Mountain Conservancy Trust (GPMCT) and other areas nearby.  Semi-retirement now allows for a transition of supporting other activities, such as serving as a board member of the GPMCT.

Dr. Harris has a passion for pharmacy and now includes offering medication management and services and education with Maine Seacoast Mission for the island residents off the coast of Maine.  Additionally she shares her talents with the Jubilation Bell Ringers in Hampden, sings weekly at the Blue Hill Congregation Church and is a member of the Bagaduce Chorale and Evensong West singers.


Tim Tucker, PharmD, FAPhA

Tim Tucker received his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Tennessee (UT) Health Science Center where he currently serves as an assistant professor.  As a UT student, he was a delegate for APhA-ASP Region-3, Regional Correspondent for Phi Delta Chi, and National Speaker for Phi Lambda Sigma.

After completing his education, Dr. Tucker continued to serve pharmacy as a member of the Tennessee Board of Pharmacy, serving as its President in 1998, and the Tennessee Pharmacists Association, acting as Speaker of the House for over 10 years, President in 2000 and then Treasurer for several years. Dr. Tucker has also served in many capacities at the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) including two terms as Speaker of the House, a Board member and President in 2008-2009. He is also an APhA Fellow.

Tucker is presently a member of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education Board of Directors, serving as President in 2017-18.

Dr. Tucker’s interest in pharmacy began in Huntingdon, TN where his family has owned City Drug Company for over 50 years. Serving in his 28th year on the Huntingdon City Council and his 8th year on the Huntingdon Special School District Board, he is active in the community and has received many honors and awards throughout his 30 years as a pharmacist. Tim and his wife Diane, an Occupational Therapist, have 3 grown sons, Will, Matt and Jack.


The Hamilton, Harris, and Tucker APhA-ASP Chapter President Scholarship is presented annually to one (1) recipient with a scholarship of $1,000.


Learn more about other named APhA Foundation scholarships for students.