Remington Medalists Through the Years

Remington Medalists Through the Years

remington medal imageThe Remington Honor Medal is named for eminent community pharmacist, manufacturer, and educator Joseph P. Remington (1847–1918). This national honor was established in 1918 to recognize distinguished service on behalf of American pharmacy during the preceding year, culminating in the past year, or during a long period of outstanding activity or fruitful achievement in the field of pharmacy in the United States. In 2019, we celebrate the 100th anniversary of the year the award was first bestowed. 

James Hartley Beal, the initial award recipient, received the award at the first general session of the 67th APhA Annual Meeting held in New York City on August 26, 1919.

Mr. Beal was an educator, legislator, author, and pharmacist in the U.S. State of Ohio and was Chairman of the U. S. Pharmacopeia. 

In 1979, APhA received ownership and stewardship of the Remington Honor Medal from the New York Society and is responsible for coordination of the award selection process today. Each year a screening and selection committee selects candidates who best meet the criteria established for the Remington Honor Medal and presents two top candidates to all APhA former presidents who then vote to select the recipient of the award. 

The list of the distinguished recipients of the Remington Honor Medal up through 2022 includes:

1919 James Hartley Beal  
1920 John Uri Lloyd
1922 Henry Vincome Arny
1923 Henry Hurd Rusby
1924 George Mahlon Beringer
1925 Henry Milton Whelpley
1926 Henry A. B. Dunning
1928 Charles H. LaWall
1929 Wilbur Lincoln Scoville
1930 Edward Kremers
1931 Ernest Fullerton Cook
1932 Eugene G. Eberle
1933 Evander F. Kelly
1934 Sir Henry S. Wellcome
1935 Samuel Louis Hilton
1936 Edmund N. Gathercoal
1937 J. Leon Lascoff
1938 Henry C. Christensen
1940 Robert L. Swain
1941 George D. Beal
1942 Josiah K. Lilly, Sr.
1943 Robert P. Fischelis
1944 H. Evert Kendig
1945 Joseph Rosin
1947 Rufus Ashley Lyman
1948 Andrew Grover DuMez
1949 Ernest Little
1950 Edwin Leigh Newcomb
1951 Hugo H. Schaefer
1952 Patrick Henry Costello
1953 Hugh C. Muldoon
1955 Roy Bird Cook
1956 Frank W. Moudry
1957 W. Paul Briggs
1958 Eli Lilly, Jr.
1959 Justin L. Powers
1960 Ivor Griffith
1962 Harry J. Anslinger
1963 Glenn L. Jenkins
1964 Robert A. Hardt
1965 K. K. Chen
1967 William S. Apple
1969 George F. Archambault
1970 Donald E. Francke
1971 Linwood F. Tice
1972 Glenn Sonnedecker
1973 Grover C. Bowles
1974 Lloyd M. Parks 
1975 Albert Doerr
1976 Melvin W. Green
1977 David J. Krigstein
1978 Eugene V. White
1980 Joseph D. Williams
1983 Takeru Higuchi
1984 William M. Heller
1985 William L. Blockstein
1986 Irving Rubin
1987 Gloria N. Francke 
1988 Peter P. Lamy
1989 Lawrence C. Weaver
1990 Joseph A. Oddis
1991 George B. Griffenhagen
1992 Jere E. Goyan
1993 Robert C. Johnson
1994 James T. Doluisio 
1995 Max W. Eggleston
1996 Maurice Q. Bectel
1997* C. Douglas Hepler & Linda M. Strand
1998 Kenneth N. Barker
1999 Carl F. Emswiller, Jr.
2000 Daniel A. Nona
2001 Jerome A. Halperin
2002 Richard P. Penna
2003 Mary Louise Andersen
2004 Lowell J. Anderson
2005 Robert J. Osterhaus
2006 Robert D. Gibson
2007 Ernest Mario
2008 J. Lyle Bootman
2009 John A. Gans
2010 Mary Anne Koda-Kimble
2011 Paul W. Lofholm
2012 William E. Evans
2013 Dennis K. Helling
2014 Marilyn K. Speedie 
2015 Calvin H. Knowlton
2016 Leslie Z. Benet
2017 Daniel A. Hussar
2018 Harold N. Godwin
2019 Lucinda L. Maine
2020 Colonel (Ret.) John D. Grabenstein
2021 Marialice Bennett
2022 Peter Vlasses

* The Remington Honor Medal has not been awarded each year. No award was given in 1921, 1927, 1939, 1946, 1954, 1961, 1966, 1979, 1981 and 1982. In 1997, two Remington Honor Medals were bestowed.


Consider adding your medal or a family member’s medal to the historic display at APhA headquarters. For more information, please contact Duane Tackitt at The following Remington Honor Medalists have gifted and/or loaned their medal for display at APhA headquarters:

1919 - James H. Beal

1972 - Glenn A. Sonnedecker

1973 - Grover C. Bowles

1984 - William M. Heller

1990 - Joseph A. Oddis

1991 - George Griffenhagen

1993 - Robert C. Johnson

1998 - Kenneth N. Barker

2001 - Jerome A. Halperin

2012 - William E. Evans