News Releases

APhA Foundation Announces Officers for its 2014-2015 Board of Directors

WASHINGTON, D.C. —The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation announces the elected officers for its Board of Directors for the 2014-2015 term:  Ed Hamilton, PharmD, FAPhA, as president; Mark Cziraky, PharmD, CLS, FAHA, as vice president; and Bruce Laughrey, BSPharm, as treasurer. The officers were officially installed during the APhA Foundation Board of Directors meeting in conjunction with the APhA2014 Annual Meeting & Exposition in Orlando.

Ed Hamilton is Director of Pharmacy at the Regency Center for Women and Infants in Winter Haven, FL. Over the course of his career, he has practiced in community, hospital and long-term care pharmacy. Hamilton earned his BS in Pharmacy and PharmD from the University of Florida. He is a past president of the University of Florida College of Pharmacy Alumni Association and serves on the college’s National Advisory Board. His service to APhA includes: APhA President (2009-2010), member of the Board of Trustees (2000-2010), President of APhA-APPM, Chair of the APhA-APPM Policy, Education, and Awards committees, and APhA delegate (20 years). Hamilton has served as President of the Florida Pharmacy Association (FPA), President of the FPA Foundation and Speaker of the FPA House of Delegates. He has also served on the Board of Directors of the Florida Society of Health-System Pharmacists (FSHP). Hamilton has been honored as both the FPA and FSHP Pharmacist of the Year. Other honors include the Bowl of Hygeia Award, APhA Fellow, FPA/IPA Roman Maximo Corrons Inspiration and Motivation Award, Jean Lamberti Mentorship Award and the University of Florida Distinguished Alumnus Award. He joined the APhA Foundation Board of Directors in 2012.

Mark Cziraky is co-founder and Vice President of Research at HealthCore, Inc., in Wilmington, DE. He has a bachelor of science degree and doctorate in pharmacy from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science. Cziraky has over 20 years of experience in clinical and pharmacoeconomic outcomes research, receiving Fellowship status by the American Heart Association and the National Lipid Association. He is also accredited as a Clinical Lipid Specialist by the Accreditation Council for Clinical Lipidology. Cziraky currently serves on the Board of Trustees for the Institute of Safe Medication Practice. He is a past member of the Cardiology Expert Committee for the United States Pharmacopeia, the National Lipid Association, the North East Lipid Association and the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institutes National High Blood Pressure Education Program. He joined the APhA Foundation Board of Directors in 2010 and served as treasurer for the 2012-2013 and 2013-14 terms.

Bruce Laughrey is chairman of TelSpan, Inc., a company specializing in interactive telecommunications services and a leading provider of teleconferencing services in the U.S. He is a 1963 pharmacy graduate of South Dakota State University (SDSU). He has practiced as a pharmacist in retail, chain and hospital pharmacies and was the owner and operator of four apothecaries in Indianapolis in the 1970s. From 1992 to 1997, Laughrey was the principal of E-Span, Inc., one of the original employment websites on the internet. He is also past president of MediSpan, Inc., a developer of pharmaceutical publications and databases integrated into pharmacy computer systems and utilized by pharmacies, physicians, hospitals, and third party prescription drug programs. He has participated in several professional pharmacy associations including the APhA, National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA), National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS), American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), Healthcare Distribution Management Association (HDMA), American Society of Consultant Pharmacists (ASCP) and the Indiana Pharmacy Alliance. Laughrey also served on the Pharmacy Standardization Committee of the World Health Organization in the mid 1990’s. He is a past recipient of the Bowl of Hygeia Award, SDSU Distinguished Alumni Award and a SDSU Alumnus of the Year. He joined the APhA Foundation Board of Directors in 2013.


About the American Pharmacists Association Foundation

The APhA Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., is a trusted source of research demonstrating how pharmacists can improve health care. The APhA Foundation’s mission is to improve people’s health through pharmacists’ patient care services. The APhA Foundation is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the national professional society of pharmacists in the U.S. For more information, please visit the APhA Foundation website Follow the APhA Foundation on Twitter and Facebook for the latest updates.