News Release

Dennis Worthen Receives APhA Foundation’s 2015 Jacob W. Miller Award

WASHINGTON, DC – The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation today announced Dennis Worthen, PhD, as the recipient of the 2015 APhA Foundation Jacob W. Miller Award. He was selected in recognition of his commitment and contributions to the APhA Foundation for more than 20 years.

The Jacob W. Miller Award recognizes an individual who has advanced the mission of the APhA Foundation by demonstrating active involvement in Foundation programs, exemplary support in establishing and/or maintaining APhA Foundation initiatives, or outstanding leadership in carrying out the mission of the APhA Foundation. It was established in 2000 to honor the extraordinary service of Jacob W. Miller, who served as president of the APhA Foundation from 1991 to 2000.

Worthen was an APhA Foundation board member from 2005 to 2008, and served as vice president for two of those years.  He also served as the chair of the Foundation’s Advisory Committee and led the effort to include student leaders on the committee. Worthen and his wife established the Dennis and Patricia Worthen APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) Presidential Award through the APhA Foundation in 2003. This award recognizes the tremendous leadership and commitment provided to student pharmacists by the president and president-elect of APhA-ASP. The president receives a $1,000 stipend and a mounted eagle award; the president-elect receives a $500 stipend. Worthen also supported student programs by leading the transfer of the George F. Archambault Scholarship to the APhA Foundation in 2012.

Worthen’s other contributions to the Foundation include donating royalties of his book, “Heroes of Pharmacy: Professional Leadership in Times of Change,” to the organization, and consulting as a historian on the Women in Pharmacy Exhibit and Conference Room.

He will be honored for his achievements during the APhA 2015 Annual Meeting and Exposition, March 27-30, 2015, in San Diego. The official award presentation will take place on March 30 at the APhA Foundation Contributors’ Breakfast.

Worthen commented, “The Jacob W. Miller Award is especially meaningful to me. Jake was a mentor as I started in my pharmacy affairs’ role in the late 1980s and that relationship grew into a special friendship. It was Jake who first introduced me to the Foundation and later encouraged me to run for the Board.”

Worthen retired from Procter & Gamble Health Care in 1999 and is currently an adjunct professor at the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy, University of Cincinnati where he teaches courses on the history of pharmacy.

About the American Pharmacists Association Foundation

The APhA Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., is a trusted source of research demonstrating how pharmacists can improve health care. The APhA Foundation’s mission is to improve people’s health through pharmacists’ patient care services. The APhA Foundation is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the national professional society of pharmacists in the U.S. For more information, please visit the APhA Foundation website Follow the APhA Foundation on Twitter and Facebook for the latest updates.