2021 Pinnacle Award Recipient

2021 Pinnacle Award Recipient: Jeanine P. Abrons, PharmD, MS, FAPhA

Individual Award for Career Achievement



Jeanine P. Abrons, PharmD, MS, FAPhA is a leader in working with medically underserved populations both at home and abroad. Globally, her efforts center around partnerships primarily in the Caribbean country of Dominica, where she collaborates with local eco-based practitioners, social entrepreneurs, the Ministry of Health, and a private pharmacy. At home, Abrons serves as Co-Director of University of Iowa Mobile Clinics. In this role, she and her students have been able to provide services for local populations who have little access to healthcare since 2016. Abrons received her pharmacy degree from Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, and a Master of Science in Social & Administrative Sciences in Pharmacy from University of WisconsinMadison. Prior to returning to her home state of Iowa, she was a Clinical Assistant Professor at Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences in Albany, NY.

Currently, Abrons serves as the Clinical Assistant Professor and Director of Student Pharmacist International Activities at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy where she focuses on writing and editing competences, and global health for underserved populations. Abrons is an editor of the University of Iowa, Teaching Cases and the Active Learning Exercises for the APhA Pharmacy Library. She served as author and editor of the Peripheral Brain for the Pharmacist and as associate editor and on the Editorial Advisory Board for the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association. She also provided editorial support for Pulses and Currents in Pharmacy Teaching and Learning. In 2016, the University of Iowa honored Abrons with the Academic Teaching Advisory Council’s Innovations in Teaching with Technology Award. She also received the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy’s 2018 Teacher of the Year Award.