2022 Incentive Grant Recipient

2022 Incentive Grant Recipient: Esther Epanya M., PharmD



Project Proposal: Evaluating Prescribers’ Barriers to Utilizing Pharmacists in the Administration of Long-Acting Injectable Antipsychotics in the Community Setting

Esther Epanya M., PharmD currently serves as the PGY1 Community Pharmacy Resident, at Albertsons Companies / Texas A&M University in Houston, TX. She is a graduate of University of North Texas School of Pharmacy.

Community pharmacies have the ability to provide a more convenient and accessible environment for patients taking antipsychotics. Combining this with the improved adherence associated with long-acting injectable antipsychotics, Esther believes it is a great idea for pharmacists to administer long-acting injectable antipsychotics at community pharmacies.

"I am excited to know why more prescribers are not referring their patients to community pharmacies for the administration of long-acting injectable antipsychotics and finding ways to bridge any barriers. I am also excited to share this grant with some of our respondents as a token of appreciation for participating in this survey, thereby helping to strengthen prescriber-pharmacist bonds, and improving patient outcomes."