2022 Incentive Grant Recipient

2022 Incentive Grant Recipient: Courtney Tigges, PharmD 



Project Proposal: Evaluation of patient perspectives of point of care (POC) testing and dispensing by community pharmacists for Streptococcus pyogenes and influenza.

Courtney Tigges, PharmD currently serves as the PGY1 University of Iowa Community-Based Pharmacy Residency at Towncrest Pharmacy, Iowa City IA. She is a graduate of University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.

"I am honored to receive an APhA Foundation Incentive Grant this year and I am excited for the opportunity to share with patients that community pharmacists can provide point of care testing and medication treatment for strep and influenza."

Community pharmacists are often the first, or most accessible, health care providers for patients, and the state of Iowa passed legislation allowing pharmacists to implement a statewide protocol for the testing and medication treatment of influenza or Group A streptococcal pharyngitis infections. The information gathered will help the pharmacy assess what the next steps are moving forward to improve patient care and improve cost of POC testing.  

"I am excited for the opportunity to providing a positive impact on the community by providing point of care medication treatment and testing for strep and influenza. I look forward to using the information from the project to improve the enhanced services."