News Releases

APhA Foundation Announces New Members for its Board of Directors

Washington DC – The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation today announced the newly appointed and elected members of its Board of Directors. Stuart Haines was officially installed in September 2013 to fill a board vacancy. The other four members will be officially installed during the APhA2014 Annual Meeting in Orlando, March 28-31, 2014.

Timothy Canning, BS, Marketing, has spent over 30 years in the healthcare field in positions ranging from operations to marketing, primarily related to retail pharmacy. Canning held many positions within McKesson Corporation where he advanced from Vice President, Marketing, Franchise Management, to become President of the Health Mart franchise. In this role, he formulated the long-term strategy for the franchise and grew Health Mart from 262 stores to 2,800, making it the fourth largest drug chain in the U.S. His team leveraged the assets of McKesson to provide independent pharmacists with solutions such as adherence/compliance programs, Medication Therapy Management (MTM), automation and central fill dispensing, an innovative pharmacy system, and operational best practices that improved their business and their patients’ health. He has also served as Senior Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer for Omnicare and worked in product management and marketing for Wyeth Consumer Healthcare and Pharmacia Consumer Healthcare, now both part of Pfizer Consumer Healthcare.

Stuart Haines, Pharm.D., FCCP, FASHP, FAPhA, BCPS, BCACP, BC-ADM, is currently Professor and Vice Chair for Clinical Services in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy in Baltimore, Md., and Clinical Pharmacy Specialist – Primary Care at the West Palm Beach VA Medical Center in West Palm Beach, Fl.  He is a Past-President of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) and a former member of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Commission on Credentialing (COC) – the body that sets standards and accredits pharmacy residency training programs in the United States.  He is the Editor-in-Chief of iForumRx, an online journal club for ambulatory care pharmacy specialists, and has held editorial positions with several biomedical publications including PharmacotherapyAmerican Journal of Pharmaceutical Education (AJPE), Annals of Pharmacotherapy, Current Medical Research and Opinion, the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA), and the Pharmacists’/Prescribers’ Letter.  Dr. Haines is also a faculty fellow in the Center for Innovative Pharmacy Solutions at the School of Pharmacy.

Jerry Moore, RPh, FAPhA, JD, is the Director of State Government Affairs for Teva Pharmaceuticals. He previously served as the Executive Director for the Alabama State Board of Pharmacy and prior to that owned and operated a community retail pharmacy in Alabama.  Moore received a B.S. degree in Chemistry from Saint Bernard College (1972), a B.S. in Pharmacy from Samford University (1973) and his law degree from the Birmingham School of Law (2000).

Mr. Moore is a member of the Alabama Pharmacists Association (APA), American Pharmacists Association (APhA), National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) and National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA). He has served on the APhA Board of Trustees and as President of NABP and APA, and currently serves on Samford University School of Pharmacy’s Advisory Board. His honors include the Bowl of Hygeia Award, Fellow of APhA, Samford University School of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumnus Award and Phi Lambda Sigma National Pharmacy Leadership Society.

Megan Tucker, BS, Foreign Service, is a Senior Vice President in Edelman’s Healthcare Practice in Washington, D.C. Tucker has a B.S. in Foreign Service from Georgetown University which served her well in heading up the healthcare practice for Edelman United Arab Emirates in her former role asAccount Director/Health Practice Lead. Tucker was awarded an inaugural Edelman Global Fellowship to build the U.A.E. healthcare practice, and excelled by growing the practice ten-fold. During her 14 years of experience in healthcare communications, she has partnered with the public and private sectors to reach healthcare professionals, consumers and corporate audiences through various health initiatives. Her previous positions include Account Supervisor, Social Marketing and Corporate Communications Practice at Golin Harris, as well as positions with Blakey & Associates, The New Republic and Georgetown Journal of International Affairs. Tucker has also been affiliated with other non-profit organizations and philanthropic efforts including Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, Edelman’s Living in Color Program and ALS awareness and advocacy.

CDR Kelly Valente, Pharm.D., RPh, USPHS, began her career in 1996 at the University of Rhode Island (URI), where she was accepted to the Junior Commissioned Officers Student Training and Externship Progam (COSTEP) and did three tours of duty with the Federal Bureau of Prisons in various locations. In 1999, she was accepted for Senior COSTEP and was stationed at the Federal Women’s Prison in Danbury, CT. In 2006, she transferred to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), Region IX, in San Francisco, CA, where she served as the Division of Survey and Certification’s pharmacy consultant and a consultant in Emergency Services. In 2013, she became the Regional Pharmacist for CMS Region I, in Boston, MA. Her service to APhA began in 1996, where she was actively involved in her local chapter of APhA-ASP as treasurer and was the 1998-99 Operation Immunization Chair in a non-pharmacist immunizing state. The chapter won the regional award that year. In 2002, she became involved in the APhA House of Delegates and was a delegate for 5 years. In 2006, she was a member of the New Business Committee and in 2009 she was the Federal Chair of the Federal Delegation and a member of the policy committee. She was honored as APhA-ASP’s graduating senior of the year in 2000 and has received numerous awards from USPHS for outstanding pharmacy practice and recruiting involvement.

About the American Pharmacists Association Foundation
The APhA Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., is America’s most trusted source of research demonstrating how pharmacists can improve health care. The APhA Foundation’s mission is to improve people’s health through pharmacists’ patient care services. The APhA Foundation is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the national professional society of pharmacists in the U.S. For more information, please visit the APhA Foundation website

# # #