News Release

APhA Foundation Announces Election Results for its Board of Directors

Washington DC – The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation today announced the election of Troy Trygstad, PharmD, MBA, PhD, re-election of Leonard Edloe, MDiv, PharmD, and appointment of Ed Hamilton, PharmD, FAPhA, to its Board of Directors for the 2015–2018 term. They will be officially installed during the APhA2015 Annual Meeting in San Diego, March 27-30, 2015.

Troy Trygstad is Vice President of Pharmacy Programs for Community Care of North Carolina (CCNC), the organization providing medical homes for 1.4 million Medicaid recipients. Under his direction at CCNC, the Network Pharmacist program has grown to include more than 80 pharmacists involved in activities ranging from patient-level medication reconciliation to practice-level health information technology adoption to network-level management of pharmacy benefits. In addition to serving on multiple advisory panels addressing medication non-adherence, he has co-developed novel adherence programs and technologies that use multiple types and sources of drug use data to predict, intervene and triage medication management interventions and coaching opportunities under a multi-state collaborative called The Pharmacy Home Project.  As part of that work, Trygstad co-created the PHARMACeHOME platform which captures a community-level drug use narrative with drug therapy problem-finding utilities. He also co-created Care TriageTM logistics engine which organizes interventions and interventionists based on predictive models, taking into account available resources within a given ecosystem. Both are currently utilized in more than 40 distinct licensures, settings and roles, across multiple geographies with more than 4,000 distinct users. He is also the Project Director for a CMMI Round 2 Innovations award that tests new models of payment and pharmacy connectivity to primary care providers and the Medical Neighborhood.  Trygstad received his PharmD and MBA degrees from Drake University and a PhD in Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy from the University of North Carolina. He proudly practices in a community pharmacy setting on nights and weekends.

Leonard Edloe is the retired CEO of Edloe’s Professional Pharmacies in Richmond, Va., and the pastor of New Hope Fellowship in Hartfield, Va. He earned pharmacy degrees from Howard University and the University of Florida and a divinity degree from Virginia Union University. He has served as a preceptor at Howard University, where he is vice-chair of the Board of Visitors of the College of Pharmacy, Hampton University, Virginia Commonwealth University, and the University of South Carolina. Edloe has a long history with APhA that began when he was a student. He served as chapter president, regional president, and student representative to the APhA House of Delegates. As a professional, he has served on the Task Force on Women in Pharmacy, the APhA Board of Trustees and the APhA Foundation Board. He has also chaired other boards at a local, state, and regional level. Democratic and Republican governors have appointed him to boards and commissions to serve the citizens of the Commonwealth of Virginia. In addition to making presentations on health to community groups, Edloe hosts a weekly call-in radio show where he shares health information, answers health questions, and tells the story of how pharmacy can improve healthcare in the United States. He is the recipient of numerous awards including the Bowl of Hygeia Award, the Terrence Burroughs Leadership Award, the Virginia Retailer of the Year Award, and the APhA Hugo H. Schaefer Award.

Ed Hamilton is Director of Pharmacy at the Regency Center for Women and Infants in Winter Haven, Fla. Over the course of his career, he has practiced in community, hospital and long-term care pharmacy. He earned his BS in pharmacy and PharmD from the University of Florida. Hamilton is a past president of the University of Florida College of Pharmacy Alumni Association and serves on the college’s National Advisory Board. His service to APhA includes: APhA president (2009-2010), member of the Board of Trustees (2000-2010), president of APhA-APPM, chair of the APhA-APPM Policy, Education, and Awards committees, and APhA delegate (20 years). Hamilton has served as president of the Florida Pharmacy Association (FPA), president of the FPA Foundation, and speaker of the FPA House of Delegates. He has also served on the Board of Directors of the Florida Society of Health-System Pharmacists (FSHP). Hamilton has been honored as both the FPA and FSHP Pharmacist of the Year. Other honors include the Bowl of Hygeia Award, APhA Fellow, FPA/IPA Roman Maximo Corrons Inspiration and Motivation Award, Jean Lamberti Mentorship Award, and University of Florida Distinguished Alumnus Award. He joined the APhA Foundation Board of Directors in 2012.

About the American Pharmacists Association Foundation

The APhA Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., is a trusted source of research demonstrating how pharmacists can improve health care. The APhA Foundation’s mission is to improve people’s health through pharmacists’ patient care services. The APhA Foundation is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the national professional society of pharmacists in the U.S. For more information, please visit the APhA Foundation website Follow the APhA Foundation on Twitter and Facebook for the latest updates.