CEO for the Day

Program Information & Eligibility

The APhA Foundation's CEO for the Day program supports rising pharmacy leaders who are committed to APhA, their state pharmacy association and their communities, and who desire exposure to leadership experiences. The day-long program brings the participant to APhA Headquarters in Washington, DC, to serve as "CEO for the Day" and interact with executive leadership in one-on-one meetings and group meetings that provide insights on association governance, legislative and advocacy activities, and other areas related to organizational leadership.


"I had a wonderful time as CEO for the Day! I left the day full of even more inspiration and excitement for our profession. I gained new perspectives and insights through my legislator visits on Capitol Hill and my one-on-one meetings with APhA and APhA Foundation leaders." - CEO for the Day Recipient


How to Apply

Applications are due by June 30, 2023. To access the application form, please click here


General Eligibility Criteria

Applicants should have:

  • Active APhA membership.
  • Completed their Doctor of Pharmacy degree at least five years prior to applying.
  • Demonstrated involvement in their state pharmacy association.
  • Demonstrated public service to their community.
  • Demonstrated interest in leadership.


Program Timeline

Applications are due by June 30, 2023. The recipient will be notified in July and the CEO for the Day program will be held in September. 

About the Boyle-Love Rising Leaders Fund

"Not everyone has the opportunity to complete a residency or fellowship, but as they progress in their careers and develop their leadership and advocacy in their states and communities, they may be looking for expanded connections

and experiences. ...We hope others will join us to support this and other programs which advance our Rising Leaders." - Cynthia Boyle and Ray Love

The Boyle-Love Rising Leaders Fund was established in 2022 by Cynthia J. Boyle and Raymond C. Love to support the APhA Foundation's CEO for the Day experience. 

Cynthia Boyle, PharmD, FAPhA, FNAP, FASCP is a professor emeritus in the Department of Practice, Sciences, and Health Outcomes Research at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy. She is also an APhA Foundation Women in Pharmacy Next 10 Honoree.

Raymond Love, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP is a professor at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy and holds a secondary appointment as a professor at the Department of Psychiatry, University of Maryland School of Medicine. He also serves as Director of the School of Pharmacy’s Mental Health Program and Vice Chair, Collaborative Initiatives, Department of Practice, Sciences, and Health Outcomes Research.

CEO for the Day Recipients

  • 2015 - J. Bruce Laughrey
  • 2015 - Brian Hose
  • 2014 - Ted Doyle III
  • 2014 - "Pharmacy Girls Rule"
  • 2013 - Kelly Brock
  • 2013 - Garth Reynolds
  • 2012 - Susan Holden
  • 2012 - Starlin Hayden-Greatting
  • 2012 - Kelly Valente