2021 incentive Grant Recipients

2021 Incentive Grant Recipient: Amy Dunleavy, PharmD

Residents and their Preceptors


Project Proposal: Evaluation of facilitators and barriers to communication between community pharmacists and prescribers in a rural community

Amy Dunleavy, PharmD, currently serves as the University of Iowa PGY1 Community Pharmacy Resident at Osterhaus Pharmacy in Maquoketa, IA

My practice site practices in a town with multiple clinics. Each clinic approaches pharmacy communication differently. By evaluating what helps facilitate effective communications and what potentially hinders it will help pharmacists and the prescribers in our community better serve our mutual patients.

My project will focus on evaluating the facilitators and barriers to communication between prescribers and community pharmacists. I look forward to getting to see how each clinic practices. I am excited to have the opportunity to help provide education regarding the role of the pharmacist to prescribers and staff in our local clinics.