2017 Marvin and Joanell Dyrstad Scholarship Recipient

Sarah Schmidt

North Dakota State University School of Pharmacy


Sarah Schmidt is a final-year student pharmacist at the North Dakota State University (NDSU) School of Pharmacy. Sarah has been actively involved in APhA-ASP since starting her Pre-Pharmacy coursework. She served as Generation Rx committee chair and then Chapter President. She has also served nationally as a member of the Student Pharmacist Magazine Editorial Advisory Board, APhA2016 Credentials Committee, APhA-ASP Focus Group, and will serve as chair of the APhA2017 Nominating Committee. This past summer, Sarah completed an elective APPE rotation with APhA in the department of Pharmacy Practice. She is also a proud member of the APhA Foundation Student 1953 Society.

Outside of APhA-ASP, Sarah was a research assistant for a clinical faculty member working on a diabetes and depression project, in addition to working as an intern for Thrifty White Pharmacy. She serves on the School of Pharmacy Curriculum Committee as a student representative. Sarah has also been actively involved in other organizations including Phi Lambda Sigma and the North Dakota Pharmacists Association, volunteered as an NDSU campus tour guide, and was a member of the NDSU Marching Band for three years.

After graduation, Sarah looks forward to impacting her patients in the community pharmacy setting as a pharmacy manager with Thrifty White Pharmacy.