2016 John A. Gans Scholarship Recipient

Drew Register

The University of Louisiana at Monroe School of Pharmacy


Drew Register is a final-year student pharmacist at The University of Louisiana at Monroe School of Pharmacy. Prior to attending pharmacy school, he graduated from The University of Louisiana at Monroe with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology. Since entering pharmacy school, he has also earned a BS in Pharmaceutical Science degree. Drew has been actively involved in the American Pharmacists Association - Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) on both a local and national level throughout his tenure in pharmacy school. At the local level, he served as Policy Vice President during his second year and as chapter President during his third year. He was also selected to be a member of the Pharmacy Today Editorial Advisory Board, serving as the national student pharmacist representative.

Outside of APhA-ASP, Drew has also served as Vice President of Phi Lambda Sigma, Vice President of Student Pharmacy Council, and as the ULM student representative on the Louisiana Pharmacists Association Executive Board. During his time as a student pharmacist, he has been an active member of several pharmacy organizations, including the National Community Pharmacists Association, the Louisiana Independent Pharmacies Association, and the Louisiana Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Drew’s passion for improving pharmacist-delivered patient care and advancing the profession has ultimately led him to pursue a career in association management. In 2016-2017, he will serve as the APhA Foundation Executive Resident.